Post Retire Update – Its Going, Well….


Dave SketchHi folks. I thought it time to update you on the effects of retirement on our lives. It has now been 3 months since I was receiving twice a month paychecks. Now, we are definitely learning how to spend instead of save (see earlier post).

The biggest change has been the clock, or absence thereof. I have not been ruled by conference calls, travel schedules, or documents due dates. I have not really been interested in the clock unless there is somewhere I wanted to be. I did not expect this to be so refreshing a feeling. You would think, as I previously did, that a retired person has lots of time on their hands and should always be available. Ah yes naïve one. But they also have ownership of their priorities of time. They decide what is important to them, at that time, and tend to dismiss any influences placed upon them. Sort of like a teenager, you think?

So governing my own time has been a learning curve. I have a long way to go. I hate to admit this, since I have long told my children to not use the ‘B’ word, but honestly, I am BORED! It is a hard thing to admit and I am sure it will pass but I need more action, more demands, more drama. So I have made the BIG decision to re-enter the workforce. Yep, fraid so. For a year or two more until my wife decides to retire as well. I have applied to a number of jobs that allow me to explore graphics design, professional editing and consulting. These are fun jobs, areas I want to explore.  And, I will be using my blog experiences and creative writing techniques to build out my portfolio.

So stay tuned and I will provide further updates as things progress.  Oh and have a great April 1st.

bye

Leave a comment